Community invited to honor Oshkosh educators at Celebrate Education - March 21 2013

OSHKOSH, WI - The Oshkosh Area Community Foundation invites the community to join a celebration of innovation in the classroom during Celebrate Education 2013.

The event will be held from 4:30 to 6 p.m. Monday, March 25, at the Oshkosh Convention Center, 2 N. Main St. The presentation will begin at 5 p.m. The event is free and open to the public. Reservations are required. Please call the Community Foundation office at 920-426-3993 or click here to register.

  • Read about a 2012 grant program recipient, Peer Buddies of Merrill Middle School, which will be featured during this year's awards presentation.

  • More than $20,000 in grants will be awarded to 24 local educators, who along with other leaders and volunteers will be recognized for their innovative contributions to education in the Oshkosh area. Educators submitted more than $53,000 in classroom grant proposals to the Community Foundation.

    The event is sponsored by the Community Foundation, Oshkosh Area School District, Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce, Oshkosh Mid-Morning Kiwanis, Wisconsin Public Service and Oshkosh Rotary Southwest.

    The following grants and awards will be presented:

    Educational Leadership Award
    The Oshkosh Student Association at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh will receive the Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce Educational Leadership Award. The honor is presented to an individual, business or organization demonstrating a long-term commitment to education.

    Spirit of Education Award
    Lowe's of Oshkosh will receive the Oshkosh Area School District's Spirit of Education Award. The honor is presented to an individual, group or business that provides exceptional service to the school and community, expresses a passion for learning, inspires others and serves as a role model for school and community partnerships.

    Lourdes Academy Education and Leadership Award
    Dr. Stanley Spanbauer will be presented with the first Education and Leadership Award from Lourdes Academy of Oshkosh. The award recognizes an individual or group that has demonstrated a long-term commitment to Lourdes Academy and its mission. The award will be named in Spanbauer's honor in future presentations.

    Oshkosh Christian School and Valley Christian High School
    Jim and Rosanne Keller will receive Excellence in Leadership Award from Oshkosh Christian School and Valley Christian High School. The honor is presented to individuals, a group or business that provides exceptional service to the school and community and has demonstrated a long-term commitment to it mission.

    Celebrate Education Grants
    These grants assist teachers in bringing new and innovative programs to their classrooms. They are funded by the Oshkosh Community Education Fund and Oshkosh Mid-Morning Kiwanis.

    Jennifer Weber, A Parade of Powerful Poetry, $900, Carl Traeger Elementary School
    Wanda Kern, We Are All Winners-Play Matters , $500, Jefferson Elementary School
    Beth Schulz, Homework Fun for Everyone, $1,000, St. Frances Cabrini Elementary School
    Robin Goedderz, Science is Beautiful , $1,865, Oaklawn Elementary School
    Ellen Schutt, Leveled Reading Books for First Grade Science, $912, Oshkosh Christian School
    Nancy Schumacher, Yoga for All, $442, Washington Elementary School
    Renee Larson, School Gardens, $1,000, Webster Stanley Elementary School
    Teri Rucinsky, Books to Cache In On, $500, Webster Stanley Elementary School
    Marissa Ryan & Donald Allen, The Science Shelf, $700, Carl Traeger Middle School
    Katie Mammel, Pi Day 2014, $400, Lourdes Academy Middle School
    Nan Cottrell, Power Books Influencing Teen's Decisions, $600, Perry Tipler Middle School
    Angie Kese, Move to Learn, $188, Webster Stanley Middle School
    Lisa Hutchinson, Charity Speech, $500, Oshkosh North High School
    Keith Dolan, Oshkosh History 2.0, $1,698, Oshkosh North High School
    LeeAnn Morrill, Channeling Energy: Using Stability Balls to Improve Achievement, $505, Oshkosh North High School
    Dave Tuchscherer, Introduction to Electricity, Enrichment Through Model Railroading, $2,000, Oshkosh North High School

    Rudoy Awards
    Each year, the Edward and Belle Rudoy Fund selects an educator from each middle school or high school submitting nominations to receive a grant for classroom supplies or professional development. The 2013 awards focus on middle school teachers. The Rudoy Awards, established in 1996, aim to support teachers in their efforts to provide the best possible education for children.

    Jane Kese, Emotional Behavior Disability Teacher, South Park Middle School
    Kevin Meyer, Seventh-grade Social Studies, South Park Middle School
    Timothy Kohl, Sixth-grade Literacy, Merrill Middle School
    Kay Weber, Instructional Support Teacher, Merrill Middle School
    Deb Hilscher, Seventh-grade Science and Social Studies, Carl Traeger Middle School
    Tad Mandeik, Seventh- and Eighth-grade Social Studies, Perry Tipler Middle School
    Sarah Broda, Seventh- and Eighth-grade Science, Lourdes Academy Middle School
    Billie Jo Duel, Seventh- and Eighth-grade Social Studies, Lourdes Academy Middle School

    Rudoy Technology Gift
    The Edward and Belle Rudoy Fund also is awarding a grant to benefit all Oshkosh middle schools, public and private. These schools will share a total $7,000 gift to purchase Google Chromebooks.

    The Oshkosh Area Community Foundation is a nonprofit charitable organization created by and for the people of Winnebago County, Waushara County, Green Lake County and Ripon. Through charitable giving, the Community Foundation strives to make our communities thrive. For more information, please call 920-426-3993.

    Back to News
    Copyright © 2017 Oshkosh Area Community Foundation