Community will honor Oshkosh educators - March 21 2016

OSHKOSH, WI -- More than $49,000 in grants will be awarded during Celebrate Education, an evening that recognizes and honor educators, administrators and volunteers who enrich the lives of students in our community.

The event will be held from 4:30 to 6 p.m. Monday, March 21, at the Oshkosh Convention Center, 2 N. Main St. The presentation will begin at 5 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

Event details here

Thirty-three educators from public and private schools will be recognized with classroom and professional development grants, along with other leaders and volunteers who will be recognized for their innovative contributions to education. Two schools will be presented with technology grants. Educators and schools submitted more than $129,038 in grant proposals to the Foundation.

The event is sponsored by the Foundation, Oshkosh Area School District, Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce, Mid-Morning Kiwanis Club of Oshkosh, Wisconsin Public Service Foundation, UW Oshkosh College of Education and Human Services and CVS Pharmacy.

The following grants and awards will be presented:

Spirit of Education Award
The Mid-Morning Kiwanis Club of Oshkosh will receive the Oshkosh Area School District's Spirit of Education Award. The honor is presented to an individual, group or business that provides exceptional service to the school and community, expresses a passion for learning, inspires others and serves as a role model for school and community partnerships.

Dr. Stanley Spanbauer Education and Leadership Award
The Oshkosh Area Community Foundation will be presented with the Dr. Stanley Spanbauer Education and Leadership Award from Lourdes Academy of Oshkosh. The award recognizes an individual or group that has demonstrated a long-term commitment to Lourdes Academy and its mission.

Educational Leadership Award
Valley VNA Senior Services will receive the Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce Educational Leadership Award. The honor is presented to an individual or business demonstrating a long-term commitment to education.

Rudoy Awards for Teaching Excellence
Each year, the Edward and Belle Rudoy Fund selects an educator from each middle school or high school who were nominated by their principal to receive a grant for classroom enhancement or professional development. The 2016 awards focus on high school teachers. The Rudoy Awards for Teaching Excellence, established in 1996, aim to support teachers in their efforts to provide the best possible education for children.

Rudoy Awards for Teaching Excellence
Paul TraderBiologyLourdes Academy High School
Rick DuncanReligionLourdes Academy High School
Doug Michie Physics and BiologyOshkosh North High School
Linda GeffersArt EducationOshkosh West High School
Andrew SchallerSocial StudiesOshkosh West High School
Brett HartmanEnglishOshkosh West High School
Jeanne GutierrezEnglishValley Christian School
Martha WahlScience and Mathematics Valley Christian School
Becca JepsonMathmaticsValley Christian School

Rudoy Technology Grant
With an understanding of the critical role technology plays in education and the challenge schools face keeping up with the evolving market of devices and tools that can enhance learning, the Edward and Belle Rudoy Fund provides grants for technology.

The Rudoy Fund Technology Grant recipients of 2016 are:
Oshkosh West High School
Lourdes Academy

The grant to Oshkosh West will provide the technology necessary for students to engage in the 4Cs: critical thinking, collaboration, communication and creativity.

The grant to Lourdes Academy supports their Computer Science Integration program where students will receive new computers and tablets for STEM projects. Schools submitted more than $50,000 in technology grant funding requests.

Celebrate Education Grants
These grants assist teachers in bringing new and innovative programs to their classrooms. They are funded by the Mid-Morning Kiwanis Club of Oshkosh, the Zmolek Family Education Fund and the Oshkosh Area School District Education Foundation. More than $78,000 in proposals for Celebrate Education grants were submitted to the Foundation during a competitive process earlier this year.

Celebrate Education grant recipients
Anne SieckJefferson Elementary SchoolIntensive Autism Interventions in Early Childhood
Bonnie BarberValley Christian PreschoolSTEM Fun in 4K
Meghan NeveauRead Elementary SchoolHome to School Connection Backpacks
Mandy FroehlichFranklin Elementary SchoolMove Toward Personalized Learning Classrooms
Melanie FloydWashington Elementary SchoolBuilding Social/Emotional Strength
Zong VangWebster Stanley Elementary SchoolSTEM Classroom
Karen CoatsLourdes Academy SetonBuilding Lifetime Friendships
Julie RundeCarl Traeger Elementary SchoolOne Book One CommuniTE Summer Book Club
Nick MeesMerrill Middle SchoolCultivating Produce Through Hydroponics
Michelle HaydinValley Christian Elementary SchooliLove iPads
Laurin EndresALPS Charter SchoolMulticultural Literacy
Kathy HorejsLourdes Academy Middle SchoolAnd The Newbery Medal Winner Is
Dennis CooleyValley Christian SchoolWell-Rounded Religion
Ann FrazierValley Christian SchoolSmart-Pens for Smart Kids
Larry AbelValley Christian SchoolMaking Magnetism Amazing
Ivy JeskieSecond ChanceSchool Garden-The Next Step
Gillian PakulaOshkosh West High SchoolC.A.R.E. 16
Kyra SawyerOshkosh North High SchoolIncreasing Tolerance Through Theater
LeeAnn MorrillOshkosh North High SchoolPBIS Take Hold-Take 2

UWO College of Education and Human Services Teacher Excellence Awards
This is the first year the UWO College of Education and Human Services will be awarding education grants to local elementary school teachers. These teachers were nominated by their principals to receive a grant for classroom enhancement or professional development.

College of Education and Human Services Teacher Excellence Awards
Brittany GladCarl Traeger Elementary School
Robin GoedderzOaklawn Elementary School
Shannon Van ScyocValley Christian School

The Oshkosh Area Community Foundation is a nonprofit charitable organization created by and for the people of Winnebago County, Waushara County, Green Lake County and Ripon. Through charitable giving, the Community Foundation strives to make our communities thrive. For more information, please call 920-426-3993.


Back to News
Copyright © 2017 Oshkosh Area Community Foundation