Celebrate Education awards $18,600 in grants - March 17 2010

Local teachers and education advocates were honored Monday at the sixth annual Celebrate Education awards. Presented by the Oshkosh Area Community Foundation, Oshkosh Area School District, Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce, Oshkosh Mid-Morning Kiwanis and Wisconsin Public Service, Celebrate Education awarded over $18,600 in grants to local teachers.

Celebrate Education Grants

Celebrate Education Grants assist teachers in bringing new and innovative programs to their classrooms. These grants are presented by the Oshkosh Area Community Foundation and Oshkosh Mid-Morning Kiwanis. Among the teachers receiving grant awards:

  • Kim Brown, Carl Traeger Elementary School (Reasoning with Rekenreks)
  • Robin Goedderz, ALPs Charter School (Our Un-Regatta)
  • Lisa Helmer, Webster Stanley Elementary School (STEM and Nutrition Enrichment)
  • Julie Holmes, Franklin Elementary School (Kindles in the Classroom)
  • Austin Moore, South Park Middle School (iMath)
  • LeeAnn Morrill, Oshkosh North High School (Why Read)
  • Lisa Nigl, Oaklawn Elementary School (Count On Me)
  • Kim Olson, Roosevelt Elementary School (Our Learning Tree)
  • Julie Runde, Carl Traeger Elementary School (Home Academic Support Resource Center)
  • Oliver Schinkten, Merrill Middle School (Quality H2O)
  • Laura Wolff, ALPs Charter School (Whodunit?)

Rudoy Awards

The Rudoy Awards for teaching excellence were established in 1997 by Ed and Belle Rudoy. This year's awards honored area high school teachers with a grant for professional development or a creative classroom learning opportunity. Among the teachers receiving grant awards:

  • Andrew Britton, Oshkosh West High School
  • Jennifer Henselin, Oshkosh North High School
  • Scott Landwehr, Valley Christian School
  • Rick Leib, Oshkosh North High School
  • Kevin Wachholz, Oshkosh West High School

Educational Leadership Award

The Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce Educational Leadership Award is presented to an individual or business demonstrating a long-term commitment to education. This year, the Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce honored Ann Padley, Choice Bank Director of Communication Services.

"Ann is a great example of how a young professional can share her skills and talents with our students and teachers," said John Casper, Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce President and CEO. "We are especially thankful for her enthusiasm and her dedication in connecting with our schools to ensure students have a greater understanding of financial literacy."

Spirit of Education Award

The Oshkosh Area School District Spirit of Education Award is presented to an individual who provides exceptional service to the school and community, has a passion for learning, inspires others, and is a role model for school and community partnerships. This year, the Oshkosh Area School District honored Bill Van Lieshout, former teacher and tennis coach.

In presenting the award, Oshkosh Area School District Interim Superintendent Dr. Bette Lang said, "Bill, you are a role model for all of us. You see your work as one of service and as a cause beyond yourself. You are a community member who truly makes a difference."

The Oshkosh Area Community Foundation is a non-profit charitable organization created by and for the people of Winnebago County, Waushara County, Green Lake County and Ripon. Through charitable giving, the Community Foundation strives to make our communities thrive. For more information, please call (920) 426-3993.

Back to News
Copyright © 2017 Oshkosh Area Community Foundation