Celebrate Education

2018-2019 Celebrate Education Committee

What is Celebrate Education?

Celebrate Education is an annual event honoring local teachers, principals, coaches and volunteers for their continuous hard work and dedication to our community’s students. During the event, grants are awarded to exceptional educators for special programs they conduct in the classroom, on the field and after school.  Before 2005, Celebrate Education was known as the NET Awards-Nurturing Education and Teaching. From 1997 to 2004 the NET Awards granted approximately $90,890 to various school programs.

Click here to RSVP for the 2020 Celebrate Education event on March 9 at the Oshkosh Convention Center.


Who sponsors this event?

Local community leaders sponsor Celebrate Education each year, including the Mid-Morning Kiwanis Club of Oshkosh, Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce, Wisconsin Public Service Foundation, Oshkosh Area School District, the UWO College of Education and Human Services and the Oshkosh Area Community Foundation. By partnering together, we are able to award thousands of dollars in grants to educators whose programs make a difference in the lives of our children.

Since Celebrate Education began in 2005, there has been a total of $280,793 (as of 2018) awarded to educators in the Oshkosh community.


2019 Grant Recipients

Spirit of Education Award (Oshkosh area School District):

  • Devon Hudak of ARC Contracting

Dr. Stanley J. Spanbauer Education and Leadership Award (Lourdes Academy):

  • Oshkosh Corporation

Educational Leadership Award (Oshkosh Chamber of Commerce):

  • Oshkosh Corporation

Friends of Education Award (Valley Christian School):

  • Jim and Rosanne Keller

Rudoy Awards for Teaching Excellence:

  • Jeff Erdmann: Literacy, Perry Tipler Middle School
  • Tara Lipinski: Literacy & Social Studies, South Park Middle School
  • Debbie Heinen: Math, South Park Middle School
  • Melanie Wroblewski: Family and Consumer Science, Carl Traeger Middle School
  • Erin Tedesco: Chorus, Carl Traeger Middle School
  • Jamie Horn: Advanced Learning Program Charter School
  • Beckie Lehman: Music, Valley Christian School
  • Sarah Warren: Literacy, Webster Stanley Middle School
  • Margie Metcalf: Speech and Language Therapist, Webster Stanley Middle School
  • Bill Scheuermann: Science, Webster Stanley Middle School

Rudoy Technology Grants:

  • South Park Middle School to purchase 30 virtual reality/augmented reality devices and a 360 degree camera.

Celebrate Education Grants:

  • Jennifer SchmidtUkuleles in the Elementary Music Classroom, Carl Traeger Elementary
    • To purchase ukuleles to Forster music literacy
  • Emily Sopata: Multicultural Books in the Classroom, Carl Traeger Elementary
    • To purchase books that represent the cultural diverse classroom and home environments.
  • Julie Runde: Summer Book Fairy, Carl Traeger Elementary
    • To purchase books to send to kids during the summer
  • Rebecca Thompson: R-E-L-A-X, Valley Christian School
    • To purchase rubber bouncing bands, textured bubble seats and wobble stools
  • Bonnie Barber: Everything BUT the Kitchen Sink, Valley Christian School
    • To purchase a modernized play kitchen
  • Josh Gross: Gross Reading for Great Kids!, Valley Christian School
    • To purchase leveled reading books
  • Erik Kallio: My Happy Place…and Theirs Too!, Valley Christian School
    • To purchase items to help kids stay on task
  • Alyson Clayton: Kindled Learning for Everybody, Valley Christian School
    • To purchase 7 Amazon Kindle E-Readers
  • Beckie Lehman: A Rhythm of Colors, Valley Christian School
    • To purchase Specdrums
  • Brian Davis: Cool Runnings, Valley Christian School
    • TO purchase Superconductor Classroom Kit
  • Becca Jepson: Me and My ‘Bots!, Valley Christian School
    • To introduce robotics programming
  • Missi Clausen: Standing Desks, Lourdes Academy
    • To purchase standing desks for classroom
  • Jan Wagner: Improving Learning Through Classic Games, Smith Elementary
    • To purchase board and card games
  • Abbie Sliwicki: High Quality Books for Kindergarteners, Roosevelt Elementary
    • To purchase high quality books
  • Whitney StenbrotenTeaching Social and Emotional Learning and Growing Student’s Inner Voice, Oakwood Elementary
    • To purchase supplies that help teach students to self regulate their emotions
  • Angie KeseMiddle School Students Need New Classroom Books to Devour, Webster Stanley Middle
    • To purchase books for classroom library
  • Matt CallahanIntegrating Robotics/Coding Into the Elementary Classroom to Ensure Students are Future Ready!, Oaklawn Elementary
    • To teach coding and think critically and creatively
  • Kathleen StephanySTEM Circuit Playgrounds, South Park Middle
    • To purchase Circuit Playground Express
  • Tom AnfinsonBattle of the Books, South Park Middle
    • To build supply of books available during school wide battle of the books competition
  • Stephanie PolakGames Based Learning, Oshkosh West High
    • To purchase board games for students with intellectual disabilities
  • Anne Scott: A Soft Landing, Oshkosh North High
    • To create a soft landing space for at-risk students
  • Mike KaniaKnowledge Matters Simulations Curriculum, Second Chance
    • To purchase liceneses for Simulations to enhance curriculum

Oshkosh Area School District Education Foundation Grants:

  • Meghan Neveau: Summer Math Camp, Read Elementary
    • To provide a summer math camp for students
  • Wanda Kern: From Playdough to Plato: Creating STEM Bins, Jefferson Elementary
    • TO create STEM bins to provide hands-on experiences
  • Valerie Verhunce: Dashing to Empower Hearts and Minds, Shapiro STEM Academy
    • To purchase DASH robots to learn about robotics and coding
  • Valerie VerhunceCreating Engineers, Designers, Inventors and Scientists in 3D, Oakwood Elementary
    • To purchase 3D pens to learn about 3D printing
  • Pamela Gerrits: Diverse Literature to Enrich Reading, Roosevelt Elementary 
    • To creative motivational take-home story kits
  • Pamela GerritsShare Your Thoughts – Using Technology to Improve Communication of Higher Order Thinking, Roosevelt Elemtentary
    • To enhance oral language skills
  • Julie ReichenbergerHobunch Club, Webster Stanley Middle
    • To start a lunch/hobby club
  • Kelly SchweinerHealthy Hearts in Physical Education, Webster Stanley Middle
    • To purchase IHT Spirit Heart Rate Monitors
  • Kari Koerner & Faye VanDammeBooks on Wheels. Emmeline Cook Elementary
    • To providing students with free books over the summer to read and expand their home library
  • Lisa GrafGetting Fish Out of Trees, Merrill Middle
    • To purchase supplies for Genius Hour
  • Angie Rodriguez & Jennifer OlivaresSpanish 4 Children’s Book Project, Oshkosh West High
    • To allow students to publish their final and illustrated stories online
  • Gillian PakulaCare Days, Oshkosh West High
    • To support the OASD K-12 track meet and carnival

UWO College of Education and Human Services Teacher Excellence Awards:

  • Alyssa Rumlow, Jefferson Elementary
  • April Davis, Lakeside Elementary

Celebrate Education Grants Press Releases